Wilkins, Lawrence named to Walter Camp watch list

Greensboro, N.C. (theACC.com) – The Atlantic Coast Conference has eight players on the 2017 preseason watch list for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the Walter Camp Foundation announced Friday. The eight ACC players ties for the highest from any conference.

The 2016 Walter Camp Player of the Year, Louisville junior quarterback Lamar Jackson, headlines the 2017 Watch List. Jackson accounted for 5,114 total yards and 51 touchdowns in 2016 for the Cardinals. The youngest player to win the Heisman Trophy, Jackson was also named as the 2016 National Player of the Year by CBSports.com, The Sporting News and the Maxwell Award.

The ACC has had the most players nominated on preseason watch lists for the Bednarik Award (top defensive player), the Outland (top interior lineman) and Nagurski (top defensive player) Trophies, the Mackey (top tight end), Groza (top placekicker) and Hornung (most versatile) Awards and tied for the most players chosen for the preseason watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award (top defensive back), the Wuerffel Trophy (service) and the Walter Camp.

In all, 92 ACC players have totaled 165 appearances on preseason watch lists.

The Walter Camp watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November. The 2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 130 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, December 7. The winner will then receive the trophy at the Foundation’s 51st annual national awards banquet on January 13, 2018 in New Haven.

ACC Players Selected to the 2017 Preseason Walter Camp Award Watch List:

Name                           Position               School                 Cl.                 Hometown
Deondre Francois        QB                     Florida State      So.-R             Orlando, Fla.
Quadree Henderson   WR-PR-KR        Pitt                       Jr.                 Wilmington, Del.
Lamar Jackson             QB                     Louisville            Jr.                 Louisville, Ky.
Derwin James               DB-KR              Florida State      So.                 Haines City, Fla.
Harold Landry             DE                     Boston College   Sr.                 Spring Lake, N.C.
Dexter Lawrence         DT                     Clemson              So.                Wake Forest, N.C.
Mark Walton                RB                     Miami                   Jr.                 Miami, Fla.
Christian Wilkins        DT-FB               Clemson               Jr.                 Springfield, Mass.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s