Clemson and the ACC lead the way in regional host sites

The Clemson Tigers breathed a collective sigh of relief Sunday night, as it was announced that they were selected as one of the 16 regional host sites for the NCAA Tournament.

The 2017 season marks the 15th time in school history that the Clemson baseball program has been selected as a regional host. The Tigers have a 45-13 record in NCAA Tournament games at home, including 40 wins in their last 49 games.

The Tigers had been on shaky ground as to whether or not they would be playing the opening round of the NCAA Tournament at home after dropping 11 of their final 12 ACC games. However, an RPI of 13 and 39 wins during the regular season proved to be enough as the Tigers joined the other 5 ACC schools who were selected as regional hosts.

“I look at the RPI every day, and I know what it takes to be a regional host,” Clemson head coach Monte Lee said. “We just try to be consistent with our team. We have to show up every day and be consistent with our players. The true sign of toughness is what you do when you have adversity, and we’ve had a lot of adversity. I want to have my player’s backs. I am going to do everything I can to put us in a position to be successful.”

The ACC led the country in regional host sites, with five schools being awarded to the conference, and was followed closely by the SEC who placed four teams chosen as host sites for the regional round of the NCAA Tournament.

Each regional will features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be played from Friday, June 2 to Monday, June 5 (if necessary).

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host schools have also been selected to the 64-team championship field.

The Division I Baseball Committee will unveil its selections for the 2017 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship on Monday, May 29 starting at noon ET on ESPN2. Of the 64 teams, 31 teams will receive automatic qualification with the remaining best 33 teams selected on an at-large basis by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced online at, Monday June 5.

16 Regional Sites By Conference:

ACC: Uiversity of North Carolina, Clemson, Florida State, Wake Forest, Louisville
SEC: Louisiana State University, Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky
PAC 12: Oregon St., Stanford
BIG 12: TCU, Texas Tech
Big West: Long Beach State
Conference USA: Southern Miss
American Conference: Houston


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s